Is there a Bible-to-SMS gateway?

I’m serious. I would like to be able to text one of the following messages and get the bible verse as a return message:

  • mic 6 8
  • kjv mic 6 8
  • niv mic 6 8
  • Micah 6:8
  • etc.

For those who don’t recognize it (I didn’t) —

He has showed you, O man, what is good.
And what does the LORD require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly with your God.

I’m pretty sure I could write a Perl script (perhaps using Religion::Bible::Reference) that would take this sort of input and translate it into a query against gospelcom.net, and perhaps parse the results to get the verse in question. But I don’t know how to set things up so that someone could send text messages to my script and get a response by text message.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Is there a Bible-to-SMS gateway?

  1. eienmeru

    Hey mate,

    Friended you ’cause I liked your shit on E2. Hope you get more free time to node more often. No obligation to friend me back.

    — [eien_meru]

  2. spastic_cow

    I just had this same idea this morning, did some Googling, and wound up here. Any follow up on that perl script?

  3. sylvar

    Nope, I didn’t want to get into it until I had a way to work with the SMS part of it. I still don’t understand what’s needed to send and receive SMS, and it doesn’t seem to be free in the slightest, so I can’t afford to test it.

    If I get a lot of free time, I might work on the non-SMS components of it, but I don’t see myself having that much free time for quite a while.

Leave a Reply

