Spelling bee

I’m playing along with the TiVo, and I’m missing a fair number of the words so far. But here are the ones I’ve gotten right:

gematrial [had it in my head, didn’t say it before the TV confirmed it]
rubasse
mithraeum
giocoso
escargotiere
Wehrmacht
hechsher [this spelling was, at first, ruled incorrect]
Babism
towhee
coryphaeus
paillon
guilloche
kilim
yizkor
appenzell
douane
heiligenschein
hukilau [Amanda and I were singing bits from “The Lion King”]
austausch
machicotage
psittacism [I recognized the root for ‘parrot’]
aubade
poiesis

[Tragically, our TiVo recording cut out here, though I know I would have gotten at least three more.]

Is it just me, or did Saryn Hooks remind anyone else of Sarah from Labyrinth?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Spelling bee

  1. gardenwaltz

    yep, that’s exactly where our tivo cut out too, and i did not get poiesis. i did get:
    towhee
    paillon
    kilim
    douane
    heiligenschein
    hukilau
    aubade

    this one i missed only because i didn’t realize it was feminine:
    escargotiere

    however, i do remember that towhee was not the first one i got right, so my list is not completely a subset of yours.

Leave a Reply

