Photography tip jar

My camera is having some shutter problems:

This will cost so much to fix that I’m seriously considering replacing the camera body with the Canon Digital Rebel XT (the lenses and flash unit are compatible). With the $100 rebate, which lasts until mid-July, replacing the 35mm camera would cost as much as getting it repaired and shooting 50 rolls of film.

I’ve gotten pretty good with a camera, I think.

Pattern interrupted by a dove Plumeria Milan street seen from the roof of the Duomo Foucault's Pendulum

I’d love to not have to worry about whether I’m wasting film; I’d get more good shots to share with everyone. And I do mean everyone, since I use a Creative Commons license.

If anyone would like to contribute, an Amazon.com gift certificate to sylvar@vaxer.net would be the ideal way to do so. I told that I wouldn’t set up a tip jar for fear of getting my ego crushed. Oh well, go ahead and crush me.

Or, if you feel generous, send me a gift certificate.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Photography tip jar

  1. madam_sosostris

    You do indeed have a good photographic eye. I’m still not willing to jump into the digital world. I prefer my photos old school, but I really do need to take a class to learn how to use the darn thing properly. Do you think “the eye” is something one can learn, or is it more innate?

  2. sylvar

    Oh, you can definitely learn. I learned a lot from this book:

    The Photographic Eye: Learning to See with a Camera

    You can ILL it from:

    Location Library Code
    FL FLORIDA INT UNIV FXG
    FL LAKE CITY COMMUN COL WK6
    FL LARGO LIBR FLA
    FL MARION CNTY PUB LIBR SYST FLJ
    FL PASCO CNTY SCH SYST FVV
    FL SUWANNEE RIVER REG LIBR SYST FLK
    FL VALENCIA COMMUN COL FVC

  3. cardinalximinez

    I’m crushing your head. *crush crush crush*

    ;)

  4. frannyan

    I’ve never had luck with film, so very big advocate o digital. :) Just be sure to get yourself a nice sized memory card and preferable have a spare. Having just a dinky when it’s a perfect day out it almost painful. *huggles her new memory card*

    and seriously jealous of that last shot up there. :)

    I’d toss you some spare change, but… broke college student. ^^ *boggles at the price of that thing* Assuming the lenses and all would take care of the zoom and all as I’m not seeing a thing on the page of it about that sorta thing.

  5. sylvar

    Assuming the lenses and all would take care of the zoom and all

    Yup and all.

  6. las

    Very nice photos!

Leave a Reply

