Car stereo advice wanted

I just bought a 2002 Mazda 626 and I want to upgrade the stereo, something I couldn’t cheaply do with my old 1997 Taurus.

I want to put this MP3/CD player into it, and this kit seems to be a pretty decent console to put it in.

Should I expect to need any more parts in order to do this? Do I need a wiring kit too?

Should I do this myself or pay someone to do it? If so: mechanic, Best Buy, or car audio store?

I’m comfortable taking a computer apart, but I haven’t done much with car stereos.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Car stereo advice wanted

  1. gardenwaltz

    we paid the people at best buy to put the tape player into my old tempo. yes they charged us, but they also were able to do it while we went to lunch at golden corral with buddies. i don’t remember the cost, but it was not exorbitant.

  2. tealfroglette

    i don’t know if you’ve done this already, but toad did both our volvos. We bought identical radios from crutchfield, great prices, so if you want to ping him for info feel free.

    If you can do a pc, you can do a car radio!

  3. sylvar

    Does he have DIN tools I could borrow?

    I think this is how to remove the stereo from a 2002 Mazda 626, and I haven’t had DIN tools in a long long time…

  4. sylvar

    Oh, never mind, I’ve just ordered two pairs of DIN tools. If it looked like I only needed one pair, I might have borrowed them, but if (as I surmise) I need two pairs, I may as well just buy them…

Leave a Reply

