The value of ignorance

George Bernard Dantzig died recently. He solved the equations on the chalkboard because he didn’t know that they were famous unsolved problems. This feat inspired urban legends about other geniuses doing the same thing as students, but Dantzing was the mathematician who inspired the opening act of Good Will Hunting.

Today I found a geocache that was believed to have disappeared. I didn’t know it had been declared unfindable, so I was able to find it fairly quickly. I couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t listed among caches in the area, and was surprised when I finally realized what had happened.

Just goes to show you that Bugs Bunny was right when he declared, hovering in the air after walking off a cliff, “I know this defies the law of gravity, but, you see, I never studied law!” Sometimes you can only do it if you don’t ‘know’ that it’s impossible.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The value of ignorance

  1. cardinalximinez

    The geocache link is giving me

    An Error Has Occured

    This cache listing has been archived. Log in to view this page.

    …Not that I’m anything more than curious…

  2. sylvar

    Try again; it’s been unarchived. :)

  3. heyharmony

    It’s the bumblebee theory. :)

    If no one tells you it’s impossible, you don’t know, so you just do it.

    Good find on the cache!

  4. cardinalximinez

    Nifty. My curiousity is satisfied. :)

Leave a Reply

