Thanksgiving was a success

Thanksgiving has come and gone, and overall it was a great success.

I discovered after putting the bird in the oven that my “TruTemp” digital probe thermometer was broken. It was showing an ambient temperature of 150-160 degrees in the kitchen (clearly not true). So I had to run out to Wal-Mart while the turkey cooked, a trip that caused Jodi quite a lot of stress (she wanted me to do without it, but as a vegetarian I didn’t have the necessary skill to tell when it was properly cooked). Then I felt a bit of stress myself when I found out that Wal-Mart was out of digital probe thermometers. Fortunately, they stocked analog roast thermometers down the aisle, which is probably why there were any left for me.

I popped the thermometer into the bird and saw a temperature of around 150-155, so I knew I had gotten back in time. I let it get up to about 165 in the deepest part of the breast before I pulled the bird and covered it with aluminum foil to keep its heat while I cooked the green bean casserole (note to self: next time mix the soup and milk first, then stir in the green beans and onions), sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, crescent rolls, etc. I did have to pop it back in when it got too close to 160, but everyone pronounced it delicious and perfectly cooked.

Knowing our guests, I served Corona and equally attractive non-alcoholic drinks (IBC root beer, cream soda and black cherry soda). I also served a bit of Bruce’s cyser, which was a real hit. WINE:MEAD::CHAMPAGNE:CYSER, as they say in analogy tests.

After dinner, we exhanged gifts, since we won’t all be together for Christmas. We gave the Star Wars trilogy, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Chapelle’s Show, and other goodies, and got (tucked into other nominal gifts) some cash, which is always welcome. My favorite gift (not that I’d trade it for the cash) is an avocado-colored vintage Tupperware pickle container with a basket that goes down into the container. You pour the pickles into the container, and lift the basket to grab pickles without diving into the brine. But the avocado color is just the grooviest.

Then some people played Monopoly and some people watched Red vs Blue, and eventually people had room for tea and pumpkin pie. Everyone went home, and agreed to return the chairs to Sacred Grounds at 7pm so that we Geevers (and ) can go to dinner in Ybor after we visit the Florida Aquarium in nearby Channelside.

And then I read portions of Steal This Book as a bedtime story.

What a success! This was our first really big social occasion as a married couple, and I’d give us a grade of 90% at my harshest. (Uselessly empty water pitcher on the table, excessive cursing in the audience participation during A Charlie Brown Christmas, and some untreated carpet stains visible. Oh, and one fork was a different size.)

We survived. That’s the best part. :)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Thanksgiving was a success

  1. loucheroo

    I’m glad it worked out so well :)

  2. heathrow

    What a wonderful day!

  3. meander112

    Congratulations! It sounds like a great day.

Leave a Reply

