Very Limited Democracy

So… I showed up at Jodi’s place after going to the chiropractor (I screwed up my neck and shoulders by repeatedly lifting a 50lb server to the top of the rack while a contractor tried to get the damn thing to boot).

And she wasn’t there.

I tried and ‘s place.

She wasn’t there.

So I found a pay phone and called her, and it turned out she was having dinner with them and Amanda at Steak ‘n Snake.

Not that I’m bitter — I just had some leftover vegies+dip, and that was fine. I’ll take her out for our date night some other night.

And afterwards? We cleaned and hung out and just generally had fun. (But not *too* much fun, more’s the pity.)

So Jodi’s mom showed up today with a chocolate cake with raspberry filling and chocolate fondant icing — a sample of our wedding cake. It’s goooood. And we discussed the possibility of Amanda being a groomsman. Groomschick. Whatever. Well, if she could be chairman, she can be a groomsman. And yes, she’d wear a tuxedo, ’cause otherwise she’d feel uncomfortable being <in drag>.

Jodi, her mom, and Amanda are all in her room and not all of them are fully dressed. I knew I should have set up a webcam a long time ago…

Tonight we’ll probably go to Lai Thai; we just came back from Indigo Coffee (yum!) and had stopped on the way back to pick up the wedding dress that Deb Bowen offered to lend us. I don’t get to see it at all until June 19, but I did notice the neckline and some embroidery through the garment bag when I hoisted it over my shoulder in front of the sun. (Totally not intentional. I *want* her to take the free dress and I don’t want her to get spooked by my seeing it. Besides, I’ve heard it looks great on her, and it’s lightweight, which is perfect for a bride of limited mobility who’ll be outdoors in a Florida summer.)

Valerian root stinks like shit, but it sure has helped un-spaz my neck and shoulder muscles. Highly recommended. I took 450mg last night and 900mg this morning and I’m 70% back to normal. Yay.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Very Limited Democracy

  1. gardenwaltz

    jeff helped me make my dress. he saw the cloth before it was bleached, cut and sewn back together. i wouldn’t worry about a little peering at the hemline.

Leave a Reply

